ASN Report 2018

The Commission The Commission defines ASN general policy regarding nuclear safety and radiation protection. It consists of five Commissioners, including the Chairman. 1. Administrative region headed by a Prefect. Impartiality The Commissioners perform their duties in complete impartiality and receive no instructions either from the Government or from any other person or institution. Independence The Commissioners perform their duties on a full-time basis. Their mandate is for a six-year term. It is not renewable. The duties of a Commissioner can only be terminated in the case of impediment or resignation duly confirmed by a majority of the Commissioners. The President of the Republic may terminate the duties of a member of the Commission in the event of a serious breach of his or her obligations. Competencies The Commission issues resolutions and publishes opinions in ASN’s Official Bulletin . The Commission defines ASN external relations policy both nationally and internationally. The Commission defines ASN regulatory policy. The Chairman designates the various ASN inspector categories. The Commission decides whether to open an inquiry following an incident or accident. Every year, it presents the ASN Report on the state of nuclear safety and radiation protection in France to Parliament . Its Chairman reports on ASN activities to the relevant commissions of the French Parliament’s National Assembly and Senate as well as to the Parliamentary Office for the Evaluation of Scientific and Technological Choices. The departments The ASN departments are headed by a Director General, appointed by the ASN Chairman. They carry out ASN’s day-to-day duties and prepare draft opinions and decisions for the ASN Commission. They comprise: ∙ ∙ head office departments organised according to topics, which oversee their field of activity at a national level, for both technical and transverse matters (international action, preparedness for emergency situations, information of the public, legal affairs, human resources and other support functions). They more specifically prepare draft doctrines and texts of a general scope, examine the more complex technical files and the “generic” files, in other words those which concern several similar facilities; ∙ ∙ eleven regional divisions, with competence for one or more administrative regions, covering the entire country and the overseas territories. The divisions conduct most of the oversight in the field of nuclear facilities, radioactive substances transport operations and small-scale nuclear activities. They represent ASN in the regions and contribute to public information within their geographical area. In emergency situations, the regional divisions assist the Prefect of the département (1) , who is in charge of protecting the general public, and supervise the operations carried out to safeguard the facility affected by the accident. Operations Bernard DOROSZCZUK Chairman Philippe CHAUMET-RIFFAUD Commissioner Sylvie CADET-MERCIER Commissioner Lydie ÉVRARD Commissioner Jean-Luc LACHAUME Commissioner 13 November 2018 for 6 years 10 December 2014 for 6 years 21 December 2016 for 6 years 10 March 2017 for 6 years 21 December 2018 for 6 years APPOINTED BY the President of the Republic APPOINTED BY the President of the Senate APPOINTED BY the President of the National Assembly ASN REPORT ON THE STATE OF NUCLEAR SAFETY AND RADIATION PROTECTION IN FRANCE IN 2018